top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeyond btw

Another new Project

So recently when my dad was organizing his old books around the house he found that we have a lot of books. So we kept the ones we like and the gave some away. This spawned a very interesting idea.


This project idea is actually my father's, So basically he wants to build an application instead of finding one just for fun and also to help me learn more. The app basically creates an online library of your current book collection. All you would have to do is scan the bar-code, You will get the ISBN code of the book.


Then make a query/API call and get other information about the book such as name, author etc.


So I broke ground on the project and within a day I had my first version. So my first step was to figure out how to scan the code. So after some research related to cameras and scanning libraries related to JavaScript, I started coding and testing V 0.1. In this version you first open the camera with a button, then take a photo by clicking a button, then press the scan button and you will see the ISBN code as the output.

I am using an old JavaScript library called Quagga JS as it is the one that i found simple to implement.


The same day i also created version V 0.2 where the camera gets launched on site load and immediately starts looking for a bar-code, when detected it outputs the code. I also implemented a scan again button.


Now that i have the basics ready, i plan to start working with API to get the information.


The latest version V 0.2 is now live on www.Mylibrary.life , Check out the source code : https://github.com/pranav1211/My-Library


Have fun!!!





**********************************************************



Check this out on Medium.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page