top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeyond btw

I made a game!!!

So recently, as a part of a recruitment process for one of the clubs in my college called Gradient, they gave us a few tasks, and we had to pick one. I chose the task where you had to create a GUI game. I decided to do it in Python. Here is my journey.


So when the task of creating a game came to mind in Python, my first instinct was to do a snake game because it's the most common and easy to do, but I wanted to do something different, something challenging, I essentially wanted to stick out. So, out of nowhere, I had the idea of a match-the-pair game. it felt different and unique so on Saturday(13/01/2024) i put the plan into action.


I chose to use a Python library called Tkinter, it is used to create games but can be used for much more. I thought of creating a game in Pygame, but it felt too complex at the time, and the Tkinter was much more straightforward, so I went ahead with it. I figured out the logic and the design of the game quite quickly as I sketched my plan the previous day(12/01/2024).


The overall process was enjoyable, and I learned much about Python and its different functions. I'm glad I stayed calm throughout the debugging process and did not get shocked or start panicking and googling issues, I could take a step back and see the issue and fix it. I had a problem trying to pass a string as an object. I later realized couldn't do it, so I started thinking and could use an if loop that checks for the string value and calls the object. Even though the whole thing took me writing about 100 extra lines of code, I am glad I was able to fix it.


Hopefully, my project will get me into the club, I know I have worked hard, and I stayed confident in the interview today(17/01/2024) and explained my thought process clearly I even talked about my other projects like my site. Even if I don't get into the club, I will be sad only for a few minutes. I will get back to learning and coding and keep creating for as long as I want, as nothing can stop me and nothing ever will.


If you want to play the game, download the file "pairgame.py" from this GitHub repository. You can use a command prompt or any local IDE to play it.


I do plant to make more levels and keep updating it and also integrating it on my website so look out!!!



description : My plan for the game.


description: one of the levels of the game.


**************************************************


Check this out on Medium.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page