top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeyond btw

Exciting Changes

Hello, I'll go over how I set up some new server-side features in this changelog.

I also want to mention that I couldn't have done it without the help of my father, who has always pushed me to grow and become a better person who strives for success.


If I haven't made it clear already, my website is created entirely from scratch.

It means I've bought a domain name, rented a server, and set up all of the software to run a website like NGINX, linking the IP address and domain name, configuring files, and obtaining an HTTPS certificate.


So this time, he aimed to help me make the coding process more convenient and efficient so that I would have more time to do other tasks. So first, he made destroyed the "droplet" that the site had been running on until now because he noticed that I was running commands with the root user. He told me that the root user was vulnerable to hacking, so instead of resetting everything, it seemed simpler to just create new one. So we destroyed and rebuilt it, and this time we disabled the root user.


Next, I configured nginx as customary, and to make the file transfer convenient, he instructed me to connect the server and my repository on Github via Git (If you're interested in the code, here it is: Github ). So I set that up, and then I could download the files directly over the internet rather than manually sending each file or package from my local machine. It made the process easier as when I make changes to the code, I execute a pull command and the files are there on the server.


The next step was to configure nginx to display the files at a location I specified. I failed miserably the last time I set up the server and had to settle for the default file setup, but this time I wasn't going down without a fight. I looked carefully at syntax and what the configuration files required, the names, the path, and the type of file, and after about 2 hours of scouring the internet and a lot of trial and error, I was finally able to make the nginx point to the folder where I had my HTML, CSS, and Javascript files. I was delighted when I finally got it


I'll admit that I've been slacking recently. Also, my father reminded me that I've forgotten the main point of creating a blog, i.e., to BLOG, a place where I can share my experiences, thoughts, and


life. Thus my next blog post will not be a change log but rather a review of The Sound of Music play that I saw at the famed NMACC and absolutely loved, so that is what's coming next.


I will also keep working on my site, both on the server side and on the front end, to make my work more efficient and the user experience more enjoyable, so I'll still be blogging, so stay tuned!!!!


Checkout this article on medium



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page