top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeyond btw

The Sound of Music Musical review

I said it, and I did it two months later. I'm striving to be a better person for myself, not for the sake of others, so I'm doing whatever I can to improve. So, before I go any further, if there are any readers, please accept my apologies and thank you for reading. I wrote the review the day I saw it in May of this year, and I only now had the balls to share it.


If I were to describe the event in a single word, it would be exceptional. The global tour of Rodgers & Hammerstein's The Sound of Music, directed by Tony Award winner Jack O'Brien, was breathtaking. This was the first live musical I had watched, and I was able to understand it in a more emotional sense.

First and foremost, the theatre itself was stunning. The vibe and grandeur made me feel like I was in a place unlike any other. I'm a huge fan of musicals and plays; I've watched and played in many school productions, and finally seeing one was incredible.


Even though the novel was published in the late 1930s and the film was shot in the late 1960s, the play did not feel modern and did not attempt to be politically accurate. As a result, the play felt very authentic, and the emotions elicited were genuine. The characters were so enjoyable to watch that it felt like each character had a distinct personality, blurring the line between reality and acting. It definitely allowed me to see the character development. The songs were terrific; some I had heard previously, such as My Favourite Things, and others I had never heard, were, well music to my ears.


Even though I wrote this in May, immediately after seeing the play, my thoughts regarding it have not only remained the same but have become more significant. Even though the tour is over and they have left India, I wish them all the happiness in the world and hope that they never stop portraying a magnificent kind of art that is theatre.


Thank you for reading, and I promise to update more frequently and be more consistent.


check it out on medium


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page